Since ancient times, astronomers’ attention has been drawn to changes in the sky. Today we know that most phenomena observed in “time-domain” astronomy are related to extreme astrophysical events or processes. Whether it is the explosion of stars in supernovae or the observations of flare stars, pulsars, gamma-ray bursts, blazars or active galactic nuclei, time-domain astronomy stretches across the whole electromagnetic spectrum and beyond. With increasing technical capabilities, the 21st century will see corresponding new instruments being developed or coming online, revolutionising our view of the ever-changing Universe.

This conference will connect the observations from the past with those from the present and future. Providing a forum to discuss the various signals and sources, the conference will also celebrate the career of Prof. John Seiradakis, who has contributed to many aspects across the field. 


Our ambition is to bring together different research communities and provide a platform for an exchange of ideas, experience and methods that may prove invaluable in promoting the unification, if possible, time-domain astronomy and approach them qualitatively similarly as probes of very different scale physics in which different effects become dominant at different systems. The discussions will cover not only the sources to be observed but also the instruments to be used and the physics to be derived. 

Topics and Confirmed Invited Speakers

Special Sessions
Invited Speakers: Jocelyn Bell Burnell (Oxford University, UK) - Richard Porcas (MPIfR, DE)   

Neutron Stars and Pulsars
Invited Speakers: Joanna Rankin (University of Vermont, USA) - Evan Keane (Swinburne University, AU)  

Compact Objects (White Dwarfs, Black Holes etc.)
Invited Speakers: Tom Marsh (University of Warwick, UK) - Ralph Spencer - (University of Manchester)

Stellar Objects and Optical Astronomy
Invited Speakers: Jay Pasachoff (Williams College, USA)

Transient Sky
Invited Speakers: Simon Johnston (CSIRO, ATNF, AU)

Astronomical Instrumentation
Invited Speakers: Vik Dhillon (University of Sheffield, UK) - Aris Karastergiou (University of Oxford, UK) - Paulo Freire (MPIfR, DE) - Michael Kramer (MPIfR, DE)

Active Galactic Nuclei
Invited Speakers: Markus Böttcher (North-West University, SA) - Petar Mimica (University of Valencia)

Extragalactic Astronomy and Cosmology
Invited Speakers: David Thompson (NASA, USA)  - Paolo Padovani - (ESO)

Galactic Centre
Invited Speakers: Andreas Eckart (University of Cologne) -  Shep Doeleman (MIT, Haystack Observatory, USA)       


Gravitational Waves and General Relativity
Invited Speakers: Maura McLaughlin (West Virginia University, USA) - Kostas Kokkotas - (University of Tuebingen)

Scientific Committee

Marta Burgay, Vik Dhillon, Paulo Freire, Simon Johnston, Marcos Georganopoulos, Vicky Kalogera, Vasiliki Pavlidou, Jay Pasachoff, Dimitris Psaltis, J. Anton Zensus

Organising Committee

Emmanouil Angelakis, John Antoniadis, Michael Kramer, Busaba Kramer, Kosmas Lazaridis, Jiannis Myserlis, Lilia Tremou

Funding and Support

The conference is funded and supported by:

The ERC grand FP7-IDEAS-ERC for the project BEACON

RadioNet3 (made possible by the EU Seventh Framework Program (FP7), Contract No .283393)

Mitropoli Ierapitnis and Sitias

Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy


Extreme-Astrophysics in an Ever-Changing Universe

Time-Domain Astronomy in the 21st Century

Celebrating Prof. J. H. Seiradakis’ 40-yr Career

16-20 June 2014 Ierapetra, Crete